Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The influence of advertisements on today's generation is unignorable but some people believe that because of frequent exposure to advertisements, no one really pays any regard to them now.

As far as my opinion is concerned,I accord with the former view. This essay shall deliberate both the ideologies with examples from a survey performed in the US and an academic report from a prominent university.

With the advent of technology, all types of businesses have expanded globally. The main reason behind this is online advertisements. They have irrefutably succeeded in growth of multinational companies. As every individual uses some form of social media and this is taken as a source of advertising. We all come across numerous e-mails and messages about variety of things to purchase, often described as spam. According to survey conducted in New York, USA, 15 companies were asked to send text messages to university students, publicizing their products. The results were very dramatic. The sales of companies went up to 120% , as because of the text messages , more people were able to know about their products.

Furthermore, not only online advertisements, but other methods such as printed templates, posters and hoardings , too have an uncontrollable impact on us. People tend to buy the things which are most publicized, especially by celebrities, even if they do not need them. This is just done to have more possessions in order to flaunt among others.

But there are some people who believe that most of the advertisements are ignored. This is true up to some extent, as most of the people remain busy in their school or work life and they barely even have time to check their spam e-mail folders. Also, most of the people already know what kind of product they want to buy and so they do not pay any deed to look for alternatives provided by advertisements. However, this belief was proven to inaccurate by NGT university, Moscow. They published a report based on the inluence of advertisements on bankers. No matter what amount of work they had, the products of which they had seen the most hoardings about, were on top of their list whenever they went shopping.

To conclude, from the above arguments and examples, I believe that advertisements have surely succeeded in forcing us to buy things, even if most of us are ignorant about them, and this impact is likely to be there in the coming times as well.