Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals Others say that there are more important environmental problems Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

We are facing innumerable environmental issues in today's world. To some, the extinction of species of flora and fauna is a major concern while others think that there are more demanding problems in our world. This essay will discuss both the views before reaching to the conclusion.

The supporters of the former view have many reasons to be concerned about the loss of species of wildlife and plants as it also means the loss of important genes. To explicate, as there are not much lions left in the world today, which means the rare breed has rare genes of traits such as leadership, courage, strength and the ability to hunt alone, which might be lost with their extinction. Also, due to unreasonably dangerous human activities such as deforestation and rising carbon footprints is causing plant species to die. For example, the venus fly trap and berries are no longer found the southern American states. Moreover, the massive loss of some plants and animals can cause imbalance in the nature which can lead to environmental catastrophe on a global scale. This phenomenon can lead to humans facing dire consequences.

On the other hand, second section of society claims thay there are more serious matters around the World. First of all, the rising pollution and radiations are having detrimental effects on the planet. Health of the public is deteriorating on a faster pace leading to higher number of people having deadly diseases such as cancer. Furthermore, the inexorable and climatic changes are causing disasters all over the globe, which is certainly irreversible. Floods, tsunamis and earthquakes are usual things nowadays. Melting glaciers are causing the sea level to rise which means less land is available to the over-growing population. Also, 70 percent the land available for agriculture on this planet is no more fertile, which has led to the issue of food scarcity, as was reported by the health department of the UN, New York.

In conclusion, both opinions have their own importance to raise concern among people, as discussed in the essay. As far as my opinion is concerned, I subscribe to the theory that other problems such as increasing pollution, radical climatic changes and over population require more attention than extinction of species of plants and animals as together with the loss of some species, other newer ones are getting introduced in the environment too. Still, all these problems require strenuous efforts to solve.