In their advertising businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some ways Why is this Do you think this is a positive or a negative development

he competition between businesses has grown over the time and to make their business more superior than other, they often claim that their goods are latest in some way. There are various reasons behind this issue which shall be discussed in this essay.

The first reason is obviously that companies want to increase their profit and in order to do so, they have to attract more customers. The most effective way is to advertise their products, asserting that they are modern. In the era of globalisation and technology, people desire wide range of choices in whatever they are purchasing. It is quite obvious that public is more attracted towards modern things, goods that were never available before. It was also proven in one survey conducted in the UK where people were asked to choose between certain commodities. Over 80% people chose the ones which had unique and up to date features.

This trend evidently has been very useful to MNCs and local companies as well, as it increases their annual income significantly. If more people are attracted towards new products, sales will rise and consequently, companies will profit more. However, this method used by various firms to deceive their clients. In one article, published in the Times of America, it was said that once a company advertised about their washing machine's new features. It was said that it could wash the clothes without using the powder. When people actually tried to wash after buying them, clothes were in extremely bad conditions, stating that there is no such technology in the world that has been discovered that could wash the clothes with water only. This is one of the ways companies can deceive their customers.

To conclude, advertising about the new features can be a positive development if before claiming that their products are new, companies always check the assertions they are making so that people would not lose their trust on them. Otherwise, it is clearly beneficial to the society and the organisations as well.