In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In a number of countries, people prefer to own a home instead of renting one. There might be various reasons behind their choice, such as high renting costs and more stability introduced by house ownership. In my opinion, this is a totally positive situation.

Firstly, some countries are very expensive to live. For instance, in Sweden living costs for a small family might exceed three quarters of the family's income. While food and other costs comprise half of the expenses, another half is spent on renting a home. Thus, many residents choose to buy a house and pay mortgage instead of a renting bill.

Secondly, owning a house brings stability in people's lives. When renting, there are risks of a sudden contract termination. For example, in the case of selling a house, often current renters should move out in a short notice period. In order to avoid such risks, people prefer to buy their own houses or flats.

In my opinion, a choice of owning rather than renting is a positive scenario. There are many benefits brought by this decision. Among the main advantages are a financial benefit of asset ownership and freedom of an owner to reconstruct and arrange it as he or she wants. Moreover, in the case of moving to different country, an owner can always let the house to someone else or sell it. Therefore, this decision does not introduce any restrictions, according to my knowledge.

To conclude, behind the preference to buy a house there are the certain comprehensive reasons, mentioned above. I think, that this choice is a good positive decision.