In some countries ,schools aim to provide a general education on a range of subjects .In others, children focus on a narrow range of subjects related to future career.Which is appropriate? why?

It is generally accepted that as children are indecisive, immature and impulsive, they are not the right person to start specialized education as people go them after completing their secondary education. Although, in some nations school focus on specializing, it is better when it is done at tertiary level.

To begin with, school children are generally impulsive by nature. They keep on changing. Besides, they live in a world of imagination. In addition to that they are more vulnerable than adults to be a pressure. Children are mainly indecisive, They try to seek the attention of others. Focusing on their field of study and prioritising things are bit too much for children to follow.

Moreover, children are not matured enough to perceive the world outside realistically. At that age, if they take a decision on specialising in a topic, there are chances that they will regret it later. For instance, many children, who think reasonably well, keep on changing their interests quite frequently. This is because as their level of knowledge increases, they feel that they previously thought was not right. It is not their fault; on the other hand, it shows the development of their analytical ability.

In conclusion, instead of introducing specialized education at school, teaching every subject is beneficial for children. A good basic education will enable children to have a good idea of almost everything that happens around them. This is central to their overall development to face the challenges in life. For all these reasons, it is better for students to specialize on a subject only when they commence their tertiary education.