In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

Mini boutiques in some countries are not able to run on their business on the ground that people have tendency to travel by car to large shops in the other area. This means that those who do not own any transportations rarely have any chances to experience stores outside their town, which may leads to an ascending demand on them. From my perspective, the drawbacks do outweigh the benefits.

On the one hand, the rise of car use can bring some plus points. First, since people afford their own transportations, they will no longer deal with any difficulties in accessing any huge outlets in cities. As the result, out-of-town businesses may earn profound income due to this trend and have potential to expand more in the future. Second, a significant number of purchased cars may boost up the revenues of car industry, which keep this business area on a stable position among the others.

On the other hand, local shops receive little support from the dwellers and soon end up closing down because of low sales. This can threaten the town economy as well as increase the rate of unemployed people. Once the residents realize that their town will not be a suitable location to make a living, there would be a remarkable migration to big cities to find a job. Moreover, more people using transportations such as cars may result in remarkable gas emissions and carbon dioxide. Consequently, there would be higher number of people who suffer from diseases caused by polluted air, which harm their respiratory system.

In conclusion, there are some advantages using more cars to access to large business units apart from the town such as improving the income of cities’ stores and stabilizing car industry. However, this trend can bring up some disadvantages regarding high percentage of unemployment, air pollution and respiratory diseases.