In some countries, students live with their family while studying at a university. In other countries, students attend university in another city. Do you think the advantages of living away from the family while attending university outweigh the disadvantages?

Students in some regions still live with their family during university years, whereas others choose to move away to study. In my opinion, I believe that living away from parents to study in universities from afar can be more beneficial to students than harming them and will explain the reasons in this essay.

Separating from family can benefit students in their university in two aspects. The first aspect is that this action can improve students’ independence when facing new things, which is a crucial factor for their future life. Since they move away, there will be no parents to help them do chores or to take care of them when they are sick. By doing this, they can become more independent in caring for their own university life without relying too much on the assistance from family. For example, some exchange students who used to depend on parents’ help for cooking can actually be able to cook for themselves after a few years of studying in another country. The second aspect is that this phenomenon can help students cherish the help of parents more instead of overlooking it. Living away might mean that students have to deal with difficulties without parents helping them all the time. This allows them to cherish their parents’ support in many situations. For instance, when students fìnd it difficult to live in a strange place, they might miss the comfortable life they have in their family, where parents are always there to support them physically and mentally.

However, there are two drawbacks of moving away from family to study in a university. The first one is homesickness as students cannot always have the affection and care from family while living away, but I believe that these difficult moments can help students become mentally stronger and respect their families more after dealing with it several times. Another disadvantage is that moving away to study at university can be expensive for students. However, this problem can be solved since there are families who still support their children financially during university years despite living far from each other. For example, there are many international students who travel to the US to study with their parents paying for all the tuition fees and living expenses.

In conclusion, I think that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. This phenomenon can strengthen students’ independence from family, which is advantageous to their future life. Moreover, it can wake up the hidden respect for family affection that students might overlook when living near parents and siblings.