Some countries today have passed laws against smoking tobacco in public

buildings such as offices and restaurants. What are the advantages and

disadvantages?

The harmful effects of smoking have been widely known nowadays. And, a law has been adopted by some countries to prohibit people smoking in public places such as offices and restaurants. Despite some benefits from that, there might be some possible drawbacks which I will explain below.

Regarding the benefits, it appears that policy might reduce the number of tobacco victims: second-hand smoke. As we see when active smokers smoked freely in public areas, the various poisons and chemicals that are produced by cigarettes, undoubtedly, would be inhaled not only by smokers but also non-smokers, in which that is harmful for human life. Thus, adopting a no-smoking policy, probably heavy smokers might no longer smoke in public buildings because they have been conscious of threatened penalty. Furthermore, It seems that smoking bans might improve work productivity in workplaces. If smoking were not allowed in workplaces, people could focus on their work because the safety and health environment are created.

Moving to drawbacks, It is apparent that banning smoking in public places could affect to the lesser of tax revenue for the government. For instance, In Indonesia, the highest taxes comes from tobacco manufacturers. Hence, when the country applied that policy, the cigarette demand would incline significantly. In addition, smoke-free laws might impact tobacco farmers, in which they perhaps would incur losses, because tobacco demand could reduce as well as cigarette demand.

Taking everything into account, Although there some drawbacks in terms of economy aspect, there are also some possible benefits which are healthy life and work productivity.