In some countries, young people at the age of 18 are considered adults and can drive a car, vote and get married, while other countries don't allow it. What age do you think is the best to be considered an adult?

The age at which a youth is taken to be an adult is currently a hot debate around the world. While some countries consider young person at the age of 18 an adult, other countries believe that is not the case. In my opinion, once one has gotten to 18, he should be considered an adult.

On the one hand, the countries that accept a teenager at the age of 18 as a grown up, believe they are capable of doing what every other responsibility adults could do; driving cars, voting during election period and even getting married. A good example is the case of Chad, an African country, where more than 60% of the population said they all got married at 18 in a survey carried out by WHO. Not only that, but even before 18, they were allowed by law to do what other grown ups could do. Thus, the age of maturity, they believe, is when one is very responsible, which is at 18.

On the other hand, other nations of the world consider 18 years of age as period of irresponsibility and therefore looked at those in this age bracket as children incapable of leading adult live. They are of the opinion that younglings who are still 18 are irrational and unable to make rational decisions. To illustrate further, Ghana barned everyone at the age of 19 and below from driving after it recorded several road traffic accident caused by youths, who are under 19 years of age. Therefore, one can only be looked at as an adult after 19.

In conclusion, although there are several opinions as to when a growing child should be seen as a grown up, i believe that those who are 18 can leave independent live like every other adults and therefore should be considered as one.