In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting universities study. Discuss the advantage and disadvantage for young people who decide to do this.

it is a popular trend that more and more teenagers take a gap before they entering the university. This tendency is not restricted to affluent students who have money to travel, but is also evident among poorer students who choose to work and become economically independent for a period of time.

For a start, there is an array of advantages for youngsters to work and travel for a before they starting the tertiary education. First, it enable the youth to enrich and equip themselves of the communication skills. it is well-known that communication is necessary in college due to the various group projects and social activities. Exploring the world or working can facilitate the adolescents to cultivate their skills in interacting with others. Another significant benefit is it will impress the students' future superior. The candidate an occupation looking for not only requires to achieve a well academic performance but also needs to have abilities in communication and independence. taking a gap year provides an opportunity for the young people to develop or enhance their abilities in different areas.

On the other hands, despite such advantages, many are still skeptical about the effectiveness of taking a gap year. people believe that the knowledge from high school will not be remembered and it will hinder the students' learning process if they did not enroll to the university immediately. Furthermore, some of them also advocate that the attention of learning will be eliminated due to the effect by working or traveling a year after graduated from high school. The fulfillment given by outside environment may lead the youngsters abandon their tertiary studies.

By and large, the above-mentioned points have manifestly shown that the benefits derived from taking a gap year overshadow those from against side. Thus it should be encouraged for the young people to broaden their perspectives.