In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

It is quite common these days for high-school graduates in many countries to take a gap year before transmitting to campus life. This trend is not restricted to students who come from a well-off background and have the money to travel, but it is also proven among poorer students who opt to work and become economically independent for a period of time.

The rationale for the trend could possibly be attributed to the recognition that: transmission to university right after high school poses an encumbrance for students regarding universal knowledge, hands-on experience, and stamina. In sharp contrast, those who have finished a stint of striving to earn money or traveling to other places are also equipped with less narrow-minded perspectives and superior personal resources, which would be conducive when they acclimate to life on campus. They tend to be more independent, which is proven to be an intrinsic attribute in academic study or research. This trend also benefits students who are uncertain about their favorite realms or future career, helping them get their interest in perspective or fully comprehend themselves.

Nonetheless, there are certainly risks in assigning a period of time for working or traveling at that important age. Taking gap years would interrupt students' education, thus rendering them more difficult to readapt to an academic environment when they have fallen behind their peers. Certain of young adults would even consider never returning to their studies. They may think that it would be better to continue in a particular job, or to do something completely different from a university course. But overall, I think such decisions would be less likely nowadays when academic qualifications play an important role in getting high-salary jobs.

My opinion is that young people should be encouraged to broaden their horizons. That is the most fitting way for them to get a clearer perspective of what they hope to do with their lives and moreover, give them a sense of purpose. Students endowed with such a perspective are usually the most effective and motivated ones and taking gap years may be the best avenue to gain this.