In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

A break after the high school are the latest trend among the students in some countries. They are encouraged by their parents to perform various activities which can be beneficial for them in their higher schooling. this approach has both pros and cons which are discussed further.

To commence with, some people does not consider the students to take a year off as a positive approach before pursuing their university studies, unless they utilised their time for their future. For an instance, if some one drop a year for the sake of travelling purpose, and enjoying with his friends without gaining any skills related to the course in which admission is to be done, will consider as irresponsible towards his goals. A year drop without learning any skills will make them least interested towards the higher studies and will always remain a year behind though out his career. Thus, the time between the high school and the university should be utilised properly, so that they can learn the abilities which will help them in their education.

However, students investing their valuable time to earn or to do other activities ,which will be beneficial for them during their course in university. working after their completion of school will make them independent, so that they can earn and pay the fees for their university by themselves, this will also reduce the pressure on their parents to pay their course fees. Moreover, taking an year off can also help students to refresh their mind and start the new course with their fresh mood. Hence, students should only be encouraged to take rest between their courses, if they promise to do the thinks which are superior to them.

To conclude, its always a good approach to insist students to work or to enhanced their skill before starting university studies, so that they can develop their abilities without wasting their time roaming with their friends. this approach can be increased in future as it has more advantages then disadvantages.