In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

While in some countries mindsets encouraging youngsters should have a year-off to take up the post or go on a journey before entering universities, the others believe that it is not necessary to do that. In my own perspective, I do ally with those objecting to the gap-year period.

On the one hand, taking a gap year before being a freshman can gain loads of life experiences which help students to be more mature in making their own choices. Firstly, this lets learners us overhaul the present condition of whether we are suitable for higher study. In a year’s time, graduated high-school seniors can have enough time to think about their strengths, favors, and the like.After that, students can make firm decisions to continue with university study or not. The number of people dropping out of higher study to follow the potential aspects that they belong to result of not taking time carefully to find out what they want to study. Moreover, that one-year time not only helps us to learn the value of money by going part-time to earn themselves a better living but also to save up effectively for their future. Furthermore, they can probably be more flexible in soft skills after trials and errors in life. For example, some youngsters used to be full-time workers, this is why they have wider financial skills than their peers in universities, they can also have an ability to manage a work-life balance to earn more money in order to reduce the tuition fee pressure

However, there are other benefits when virtually commencing university without a-year off because this may reduce the risk which can affect their whole life. In fact, they should think about their future and what suits them for a long-lasting job when they are still in highschool. For instance, many highschool students find what are their good aspects to get their priorities right so as to prepare for higher study. Additionally, deciding to take a year to travel or work may cause a variety of hoodoo at that young age, it also creates significant impacts that can harm their mentalities and their decision in the future. In other words, there are a huge number of youngsters taking a gap year feel isolated due to their works are not favorable and seeming themselves backward when witnessed their peers in universities will be in higher levels with them. With some people, they can not get over those self-pity feelings so they regret their choices and it also wastes a lot of time, effort, and money to start at the beginning.

In conclusion, it seems evident that taking a gap year or not have their own unique advantages. That being said, the disadvantages of a-year off is outweighed. I advocate that people should maintain their studies in universities instead of being absent one year before, so they can study wholeheartedly without interrupting.