In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to choose this.

Upon graduaring from high schools, many students are usually encouraged  to take a gap year for jobs or travelling before taking higher education. This can benefit them some ways but also causes several problems.

Travelling or working straight after schools will provide students with real experience in many aspects. If they got jobs, useful skills from work will assist them to study better in related subjects when coming back to school. Besides, for those who travel on a regular basis in the gap yeal will gain practical experience such as self-taking, interpersonal, communication skills which may be intensely useful for their forthcoming student life when being independent is necessary.

Beyond the practical advantages, a year off can lead to many consequences in terms of the neglect of students' study. One reason can account for this is that they sometimes hardly can resist the temptation coming from the money from work. Some of these youngsters might find that coming back schools is a waste of time and money in comparision with the amount of income and experience they earn thanks to the current jobs. Moreover, staying with the job for the whole year can make them lose the interest and motivation to come back as well as forget much of the useful knowledge for higher level studies. This results in the anxiety amist the youngsters.

In conclusion, a gap year can be beneficial; however, it also may be disastrous some ways that it would be too late for them to contain.