In some culture, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In many countries, parents and teachers always teach children that their dreams will come true if they are diligent enough. While this belief can encourage children to work hard, under some circumstances, it may put extra stress on them. To my mind, children are able to achieve some things by working hard but definitely not everything.

To begin with, conveying the message that working hard plays a significant role in achievement has a positive influence on children. As the old saying says no pain no gain, people need to struggle to have progress on most of the things. For instance, when students spend more time studying, it is highly possible that they can improve their academic performance. Therefore, children should be motivated to work hard due to the relevance between efforts and effects

To consider another side, there are various disadvantages if adults over-emphasize the importance of trying hard. People tend to blame themselves for not struggling enough when they could not gain what they want. However, in fact, success relies on not only diligence but also other factors, such as luck and timing, which cannot be controlled and predicted by people. Consequently, children may live under great pressure or maybe with mental health issues. It is harmful to children to think that they always need to work harder otherwise unsuccess would be totally their fault.

In conclude, teaching children to do their best is beneficial for their personal achievement. In the meanwhile, adults should keep it in mind that diligence is not the only matter, hence should not blame children for not trying hard enough all the time.