In some cultures children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message

Nurturing children and encouraging them to achieve their goals can play an important role in their future life, ranging from their personal to social life. However, before encouraging them, parents should be aware of their personality because their reactions and responses to failures strongly depend on their behaviors. Therefore, encouraging them for hard-work can have drawbacks as well as advantages.

First of all, student children are always under the pressure of their peers, and following their friends’ behavioral patterns are common among them because they consider their friends as their role models. Therefore, by encouraging them, we can help them to concentrate on their goals and refuse their playmates’ dangerous propositions such as playing truancy, or even any antisocial behaviors that may stem from lack of having an aim to try to reach for. Therefore, beside trying hard for their future goals their personality is formed based on their past experiments. It means that if they have been successful enough to define their aims and deny their peers, they will be able to have self-rounded personality, causing an assertive person.

Turning to disadvantages, if a person has tried hard but face with the failure at the first space, s/he will always blame herself/himself for her/his incompetence because s/he does not have any familiarity with facing a failure. Therefore, these persons may suffer from psychological disorders in the long-term and they will not be able to accept any risk in their life. Therefore, before encouraging our offspring, we should inform them about probable failures and make them ready for any unpredictable situations.

To conclude, although encouraging children to hard-work can rescue them from different dangers threatening them, considering the consequences of facing with any failure should be taught to them.