Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Studying a foreign language is an imperative trend since the demand for bilingual workers has significantly increased recently. Therefore, some people contend that children should learn a foreign language when they are in primary school instead of secondary. However, I do think that the disadvantageous aspects of the trend take over its advantages because of several reasons.

On the one hand, allowing children to study a foreign language in primary schools is beneficial to their language acquisition. In fact, the sooner children study a language, the better they will perform. As they are young, they are able to pronounce the words correctly as they hear from teachers or audios. Moreover, they will remember more vocabulary and speak more naturally than those who start to learn at secondary school. Additionally, their enthusiasm in studying a foreign language also be boosted significantly since they are taught with numerous active methods like games, pictures, songs and outdoor activities as well; therefore, they are fond of learning their new language and using it both at school and at home.

On the other hand, due to the fact that children have to attain a great amount of knowledge in early ages; their daily lives will be tremendously affected. In terms of their mental health, they are likely to be prone to some mental diseases like headaches or stress. In fact, they have to study two languages which are their mother tongue and the foreign one, their free time will be particularly limited. Consequently, stress and boredom are things that children may suffer from. Another significant consequence is that kids are confused when using languages. At early ages, they cannot distinguish the differences between their mother and foreign language; therefore, they tend to misuse them, which afflicts their communicative skills and also daily communication.

From all the above-given, studying a foreign language is imperative; however, children can start to study at their secondary schools instead of primary education since they are prone to numerous problems. Parents and teachers should create a relaxing environment for children to choose what they want to study in order to gain the best results.