Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Studying a foreign language is an upsurge trend since the demand for bilingual workers has significantly increased recently. Therefore, some people contend that children should learn a foreign language when they are in primary school instead of secondary. However, I do think that the trend leads to both advantageous and disadvantageous aspects because of several reasons.

On the one hand, letting children to study a foreign language in primary schools is beneficial to their language acquisition. In fact, the sooner children study a language, the better they perform latter. As they are young, they are able remember more vocabulary and speak more naturally than adolesants. Additionally, their enthusiasm in studying a foreign language also be reinfored significantly since they are taught with numerous active methods like games, pictures, songs and outdoor activities as well; therefore, they are fond of learning and using their new language both at school and at home.

On the other hand, due to the fact that children have to attain a great amount of knowledge in early ages; their daily lives will be tremendously affected. In terms of their mental health, they are likely to be prone to some mental diseases like headaches or stress. In fact, they have to study two languages which are their mother tongue and the foreign one, their free time will be particularly limited. Consequently, stress, boredom, lack of friends, life-skills shortage are things that children may suffer from. Another significant consequence is that kids are confused when using languages. At early ages, they cannot distinguish the differences between their mother and foreign language; therefore, they tend to misuse them, which afflicts their communicative skills and also daily communication.

From all the above-given, studying a foreign language in children early ages can have both valuable benefits and severe drawbacks. Schools and parents should ensure that kids have a balance timetable between studying and playing in order to help them develop themselves in the best condition.