Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the modern world, the question whether children should begin to learn a foreign language at primary or secondary school has been widely discussed. A fair portion of people believes that studying a new language in primary school is better than secondary school, while others hold the opposite point of view. As for me, I side with the first point.

From the one side, there is a fact that children at the ages between five and nine years old have an ability to remember more information than people of other age groups. Thus, pupils start to write, read, speak and even think in a foreign language from the beginning of their mental development. From the personal example, my little sister has been learning French from primary school. After two years she is able to speak fluently like a native speaker. In contrast with me, I have been learning French almost three years, but still, do not succeed. In addition to this, the older people the shyer they feel to use non-native language in front of a public. Therefore, this educational approach opens new horizons and perspectives in the future.

From the other side, learning a foreign language at primary school indirectly increases the burden of pupils, who are supposed to learn in a stress-free environment. Children do not understand the advantage of being a bilingual person, and cannot fully concentrate on the particular task. As a result, they spend more time on learning language which leads to a misunderstanding of fundamental subjects.

In conclusion, learning a foreign language plays an indispensable role in both job and study. Consequently, enormous benefits are open to children and their career path.