to some extent does the internet increase social cohesion?

As the world becomes more integrated, using the Internet is becoming more popular in both developed and developing countries. Some people think that the more widely-used Internet is, the more isolated society is. However, I argue that the Internet can affect family, friends, and colleagues in both good and bad ways.

Firstly, the Internet has the potential to diminish family life, but also enhance it. It helps members in a family stay in touch with each other. It is particularly true for foreign students who want to call their families without too expensive tax. However, couples are easily addicted to online gaming or other online activities. This leads to children's ignorance and carelessness or even a bad example.

Secondly, the Internet can distract people from friends, but it also helps people to keep and make friends. For example, it is possible for an injured person stuck at home to use the internet to keep in touch with his friends. Evenly, people can meet friends through social networking. In contrast, shy teens who are always surfing the Internet may lose their social skills or be taken advantage of by their friends they have never met.

Similarly, the Internet robs workers' time for face- to- face meeting; however, it can also make it easier to work together. Instead of going out for a meeting, workers tend to read emails all day. Using too much computer may make people less active. However, the Internet brings several advantages to workers. For instance, emails and instant messaging are more useful than phoning for collaboration. Moreover, the Internet allows workers to work from a far distance in case they cannot go to the office.

To sum up, the Internet can make our life better or worse. If used appropriately, it can create more togetherness than we thought.