Some parents think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Moral code of conduct is a paramount part and parcel of children’s education that straightly leads to the creation of well-mannered community overall. People have different opinions whether parents should instill moral values and ethical norms of the society to the children or modern education system has to be responsible for it.

On the one hand, children have to be taught from the tender age what is good and what is wrong, the earlier the better. So, first and foremost it becomes their parents’ responsibility. During the process of growing up, the children’s brains are like sponges, absorbing new information from everywhere, and spending the majority of their spare time with their parents, children perceive their behavior as a role model. Thus, besides explaining the significance of being rule-abiding people, parents should always follow moral guidelines of the society. Furthermore, the pre-school years are those, when children appear to be in the most impressionable and inquisitive age: their special features of behavior are quite flexible for changes. And by this way parents have less difficulties to build their behavioral performance and understanding of moral values of community rather than several years later during the awkward age.

On the other hand, one of the major parts of modern education is a social-science subjects, which have the students awake their ethical understanding. For instance, students muse over variety of cases with examples of unwilling and forbidden behaviors, learn the norms of teamwork and struggle to conform the school rules. At school students face much wider community, rather than two parents at home, and learn how to co-operate with people from variety of backgrounds in polite manner. In addition, with the passage of the time teenagers obtain more consciousness and gravity, which they lack in the childhood. This in order enhance their involvement in community interaction and teach them how they are expected to behave.

To conclude, I reckon that both parents and school community must be equally significant in the way of formalizing children’s ethical norms and value system, but firstly parents have a paramount impact, and the school takes on this role sequently. It is something that an individual goes on learning throughout life. Also the responsibility of every member of a society is to take responsibility for helping the younger generation to become active and able members of that society.