Some people believe that certain old buildings should be preserved more than others. What types of old buildings should be preserved? Do you think the advantages of preserving old buildings outweigh the disadvantages?

Given that mankind will face population explosion and the lack of land, whether old buildings should be preserved or not is an inevitable question. Some people believe that people should make great efforts to protect certain old buildings. In my views, old buildings are worth conserving if they have historical values. Without conscious protection, historical buildings would be severely damaged and that would be a tremendous disaster for the mankind.

First, in terms of culture, old buildings represent different styles of architecture and culture of the different age and to some degree reflect the social conventions under certain social circumstances. Take the Imperial Palace for example, its abound of antiques are handed down from the ancestors, including sophisticated handicrafts, precious calligraphy and painting works. The whole palace symbolizes great part of Chinese culture, and this gives people the sense of belongings.

Besides, historical buildings fulfill the purpose of education. These buildings were constructed centuries ago and they could connect people to the past so that people can gain a better understanding of the history. Additionally, as a kind of building, they have distinctive styles which could give inspiration to architects.

Last but not least, old buildings have economic merits. Based on the cultural and educational importance, they become tourist attractions and appeal to people from all over the world. Undoubtedly, they promote tourist industry of the country. Moreover, they give impetus to other industries. For instance, various restaurants cluster around them. The reason why these restaurants exist and prosper is that historical buildings attract a number of people all year round. It is believed that they play a vital role in promoting economic development.

In conclusion, historical buildings are of great significance to countries and human beings.