Some people believe charity organizations should only offer help to people of their own countries. Others claim that these organizations should give aid to people in great need wherever they live. Discuss both opinions and tell which side do you agree?

According to some people, charities should extend their arms only those people who live within their national boundaries; however, others opine that they should provide assistance everywhere. In my opinion, it depends on the mission of the organization and its resources. Well-funded charities can offer help everywhere; those that are short of resources should prioritize their own people.

On the first hand, if NGOs decide to serve only the people of their country, we cannot quite blame them. After all, their resources come from the local people and as such when this money is utilized for the benefit of the locals, it is fully justified. Charitable work focusing on local issues also satisfies donors who are eager to see a resolution to the problems affecting their country or community. Also, many charitable associations have limited resources which hinders them to sustain other individuals who are less fortunate. For example, charities operating in poor countries are often short of resources so they cannot provide a basic assistance in going abroad. If they attempt to do this, they will only antagonize the local community that funds their initiatives.

On the flip side, there are lots of international organizations that can flush with cash and other resources. For instance, UNICEF is an international organization which aims to aid children worldwide. They receive funding from affluent countries and hence they are quite capable of offering assistance in any part of the world. There are several such progressive companies which also have a gold heart that have the backing of developed countries. It is their moral and constitutional responsibility to provide assistance to the needy people every part in this world.

To sum up, charities should work with the objectives of helping the needy. Who they should help or where they should provide help depends on their financial situation and purposes.