Some people believe that children should spend all of their free time with their families.
Others believe that this is unnecessary or even negative. Discuss the possible arguments on both
sides, and say which side you personally support.
Nobody can deny that parental influence is important for children, at least in cases where
children live with their parents, foster parents or guardians. However, it is by no means clear that
children should spend time exclusively in the family, as we will see.
On the one hand, it may appear advisable for parents to act as role models and to establish
ground rules for behaviour by spending as much time as possible with their children. This allows the
youngsters to absorb conventions and codes of conduct which they can then follow themselves,
hopefully leading to an absence of problems such as bullying, truancy and delinquency later on.
Furthermore, being with the family should reduce the risk of children falling victim to crimes such as
abduction, or coming under the influence of negative peer pressure.
On the other hand, we have to ask whether this is a practical proposition. In a society where
many families are dual-income, or where one parent’s role as breadwinner means he/she is away
from the family for long periods, it is inevitable that children cannot spend all of their time with the
family. Child-minding and after-school childcare are often used in these cases, and if managed
properly, these can be perfectly viable alternatives. Equally, it seems that children can in some cases
learn a considerable amount from their peers in addition to adults, and allowing them to play without
direct supervision may be a benefit.
To conclude, it appears that, while family time is essential for bonding and absorbing
patterns of behaviour, there are definite advantages when children are outside the family too. This is
provided that they are in a safe, well-behaved environment with peers who are themselves
reasonably well brought-up.