Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some have voiced support that each individual has a right to pursue tertiary education and the governments should abolish the tuition fees regardless of their financial background. I would argue that this is a matter of debate in light of different factors before any conclusion can be drawn .

There are compelling reasons why students should be allowed to study for free. First and foremost, it would be greatly beneficial for those who are underprivileged as they can stand a better chance of landing higher-paid job with a bachelor degree. They can, therefore, better their life quality and support their family. Another noteworthy reason is that there will be a rise to more educated workforce if everyone is eligible for attending university. It would help leading to a thriving economy as well as a civilised society. Taking Germany as an example, thanks to their free academic schooling programmes, people can all access university and get a bachelor degree or even higher.

On the other hand, I strongly believe that students should pay for their university tuition. The first reason is that the job market has become extremely competitive as it is, if everyone is entitled to attend university, it is no longer feasible for them to find a job when graduating. Moreover, abolishing the school fees would put a strain on government coffers as there are tons of aspects that need to be covered from medical systems to infrastructures to scientific projects. Given the fact that students can enjoy free schooling systems, that would lead to numerous issues such as budget deficits, tax hikes and reduced welfare. Obviously, it would cause far-reaching effects on the development of a nation. Finally, if students could attend colleges without payment, they might not take it seriously with their academic performance, that may risk losing their academic momentum leading to mass school drop-outs.

In conclusion, while a number of people believe that governments should offer free university education, I strongly believe that the students should pay for their tertiary education.