Some people believe that governments should pay full course fees for students who want to study in universities. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this day and age, it can be noticed that full course tuition in various universities in some nations has risen significantly leading to many students can not afford to pay these fees. There are several perspectives that the authorities should purchase these for undergraduates. To a certain extent, I agree that the government's subsidization for the tuition fees paid could mitigate the student’s financial pressure. However, I think this strategy could make a huge loss in university income.

On the one hand, the opinion about subsidizing tuition fees to students is attractive for several reasons. Initially, contributing money to undergraduate could reduce the student's financial stress. It is true that some students have achievement on national or international achievements and then qualified for one prestigious university in their nation. However, this school has an exorbitant tuition fee. Thus, if students do not pay for the full course on time, they will miss the opportunity to study in that school, Therefore, with government subsidization for education purposes or a scholarship for high achievement in national or international competitions, undergraduates may feel more comfortable not being paid a high full course fee and they can concentrate on their studies and relevant activities in universities. For instance, in 2019, the Government of Vietnam awarded a 20-million Viet Nam Dong scholarship to five students who successfully achieved a gold medal in Mathematics and Physics Olympics Competitions, and this awarded prize was used for paying their tuition fees at the university where they studied. Furthermore, these scholarships could be a motivation for students to expand their knowledge, become more hard-working and gain an excellent grade point average in university.

On the other hand, I believe that purchasing the tuition fees completely for the students is not effective for some reasons. First, universities may lose their income from students’ tuition fees. These days almost all universities in the world are independent in financial aspects, and tuition fees are the main source of income. To illustrate, the Vietnam National Economics University gained over 10 billion Viet Nam Dong from tuition fees. In the event that the government imposes subsidization for undergraduates only for academic purposes with a fixed cost, schools may lose their money to pay for various sectors such as services, infrastructure maintenance, and salaries for teachers and staff. Hence, they may not have enough budget to remain in operation. Additionally, suppose that there are a lot of students who claimed scholarships from the government, the authorities may have to reduce their allocates for other branches like health, and national defense even increases individual income taxes to add to the scholarship fund. As a result, the disapproval of subsidizing full-course fees may be rising in the community.

In summary, university education shall not completely free, however, the fees shall not be too burdensome for the students. From my perspective, universities may be awarded a scholarship to students who have struggled with situations or gained some accomplishments in academics and training.