Nowadays young people are leaving their homes from rural areas to study or work in the cities. Why does this happen? Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's world, it can be seen that the younger generation tends to choose the big cities to settle in instead of living in their houses in remote areas. There are a variety of reasons to explain this phenomenon. From my point of view, there are certain benefits to this trend, but its drawbacks are far weightier.

On the one hand, there are two prime causes that lead to the urban migration of young adults. First and foremost, resulting from imbalanced social development in multiple aspects, geographical differences in life quality are a major trigger. Less likely to be a regional economic or political center to attract large corporations' investments, most rural or remote areas may not be able to show their advantages in the provision of sufficient job opportunities, let alone rewarding positions with competitive compensation and benefits packages. As a result, despite the forced competition in the local labor market, many metropolises, thanks to their prosperity, are attractive to fresh graduates in terms of high incomes and more promising career paths with substantially working experience accumulated from famous conglomerates. Thus, the employees could reach a high standard of living to fulfill their family needs. Additionally, benefiting from the stronger economy, urban local infrastructure, including educational systems, tends to be developed, with more funding for teaching facilities and competitive incentives for experienced faculties.

On the other hand, I consider that few disadvantages have arisen from working or studying in several urban territories. To begin with, developed metropolises would deal with harmful issues like traffic jams, population explosions, and pressure on infrastructure and services. For instance, in Hanoi, which is the capital and also a densely populated city in Vietnam, when citizens hang out at rush hours, it might seem to be that pollution and traffic congestion are caused by overusing private vehicles like cars or motorbikes. Besides, the uneven population distribution may cause soaring property prices, originating from the effect between limited urban space and higher demand for accommodation. Furthermore, young people are likely to encounter a series of life pressures from either work or study due to the force of competition in urban areas. Additionally, a widening gap between urban and rural areas means that local economic progress may be decreased significantly. This might be explained by the fact that the entire human resources of the countryside might be utilized. However, the beneficiaries are expected to be large cities only. Losing a young and competent labor force is the most frequently criticized immediate loss to the farming industry.

In summary, it is no doubt that living in a metropolis is a good opportunity for young people, as well as the possibly improved living standard accordingly. Nevertheless, I would argue that the adverse impacts of the disequilibrium in the population distribution between rural and urban areas on society as a whole might be significant.