Some people believe that hosting international sports events is good for the country while some people think it is bad Discuss both these views and state your opinion

In contemporary times, sports is one of the best mediums for entertaining people such as the Olympic Games, football world a cup. The big organizations invest a lot of money in these types of sports events, therefore there is a huge opportunity for the host country to improve their economy. On the other hand, some people have dissented to this idea for various reasons. In the following paragraphs, both views will be discussed and finally, my opinion will be given.

To begin with the positive views, firstly the tourist attraction, when a big event like football or cricket world cup is held in a country people all around the world come to this place to enjoy the events. In that case, the host country has a scope to highlight their tourist attractions so that people can visit those places and it will be a great source of earning revenue currently and in the long term. For example, in Bangladesh, after hosting the 2011 T20 cricket world cup the number of foreign visitors who come here to visit the tourist places has grown significantly. In addition, it will help to decrease the unemployment rate because if the big companies have found a suitable environment for their business, then they are willing to invest in this country. For instance, according to the survey of the BBC after the 2011 cricket world cup, many sponsor companies made their branches such as VIVO mobile company, therefore, many job vacancies were created. After all, it will help to start up a new business.

On the other hand, it increases the crime rate in the city such as robbery, increasing the supply of drugs. For example, in 2008, in Pakistan, many terrorists tried to kill the Srilankan cricketer. Furthermore, people are afraid of destroying the cultural tradition due to the mixing of various cultural people.

In conclusion, to sum up, all the points above, hosting a big event creates a big opportunity for the country to progress economically and I will go with the former statement.