Some people believe that hosting international sports events is good for the country, while some people think it is bad.

Discuss both these views and state your opinion.

It is undoubtedly the case that the race for organizing global sporting events is fiercely competitive. Yet some argue that hosting such events is problematic. Others and I opine that their arguments are not plausible, for these ignore the far-reaching benefits to a nation.

On the one hand, it is widely believed that international sporting events would induce some serious problems in the host country. One of the evident problems is that it is necessary for the government to erect or renovate existing sports facilities, which means that an enormous quantity of money must be allocated to such investments. Other pivotal sectors such as health or education, consequently, may be negatively affected by a shortage of income for their development. Another matter is that once a tournament is commenced, spectators from many corners of the world, particularly from neighboring states, would swarm to the host country. This massive movement might undermine the national security, since criminals and terrorists could enter the country for illegal purposes.

On the other hand, I deem that holding world-class sports events such as the Olympics Games or FIFA World Cup would offer a great number of merits to the host nation. For starters, these types of international occasions can establish reputation and dignity of the host country. For instance, there is a strong likelihood that a persistent increase in recognition and tourism is attached to the states hosting the Olympic Games. Another significant advantage is that increasing profile of a country can then lead to economic profits. There would be long-term investments and lucrative sponsorships from large multinational corporations in preparation for major events. The host country’s both overall infrastructure and local facilities could eventually be modernized with a view to catering for influxes of visitors.

In summary, although there exist a handful of drawbacks to organizing sports event on the international stage, I would contend that the positive points as regards the promotion for the country’s image and financial gains are long-lasting and sustainable.