Some people believe that it is a good idea for older people to work if it is possible for them to do so. Do you agree or disagree

It is suggested that elders should continue pursuing their careers as long as possible. In my opinion, I partly agree with this statement as older people deserve to take a rest after many years they spent on their occupation

On the one hand, it is indeed beneficial for elderly people to keep working as they can not only get rid of being a family burden but also find joy in their workplace. In detail, many elders have to suffer from being disrespected by their children because they are not capable of earning money and hence create a bigger financial pressure. As a result, by maintaining a job they will not have to depend on their children’s money and avoid being in the mentioned situation. Furthermore, staying at home with mundane tasks is probably not a good idea for older adults, however, by going to work they can meet new people and events that make their life become more lively

On the other hand, elders have to be occupied with their job for most of their life, it is time for them to while away and enjoy what they have achieved. It is true that a lot of people work endlessly everyday to earn a living or save up some money for their later life. Therefore, there is no reason why they have to spend their retirement years thriving in that hectic lifestyle, instead, they should have their own moment to let their hair down, look back on what they have done and do whatever they want in order not to feel regretful afterward

To conclude, although it is understandable that elders are increasingly expected to work longer as it helps them to get rid of being a financial burden along with ensuring that they will always have something to do. From my perspective, I still partly agree with this viewpoint, as elders should have their care-free time as they have tried hard for so many years and there is not much time left for them to enjoy their life