Some people believe that it is a good idea to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

People have different views about whether researchers or businessmen should share their knowledge in the academic field or whether some data is too critical or too precious to be released in public. While I understand that some information owners are reluctant to share freely, I believe that that the benefits of sharing do outweigh the drawbacks.

There are various reasons why people might argue that it is not proper to release without any restrictions. Firstly, it is so dangerous if the information is misused. For example, if data scientists open the database of membership of the website, that would invade the privacy of customers who enrolls on the internet. Secondly, the business need to make money so they would not let the information use freely. Besides, because the company puts a lot of effort and cost on research for inventing the product, it is indeed to charge some fee for the intangible knowledge or physical produce. Finally, some information stands for the brand value, and it is unique. If everyone knows the data about the company, the special points of the business are no longer existing.

In spite of the above arguments, I support the view that opening the information to everyone will make the world better. The opportunity of accessing the knowledge can lead to fast improvement and make the research have a big progress. For instance, sharing the method about how to produce medicine worldwide can result in reduce death rate in COVID-19. In my view, free data would bring brainstorms in crowd, and that actually can bring more new and novel ideas.

In conclusion, particular information may not be proper to share everyone, but I believe some open data would led the society to a more brilliant place.