Is remote learning suitable for young learners?

The impact that remote learning has had on our daily lives, and society in general, is undeniable since the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic. Technology has been flourishing by leaps and bound and provides new avenues while keeping ourselves up-to-date with the latest information and learning anytime. However, young learners and all stakeholders of e-learning have faced more and more challenges in several years. In my opinion, remote learning will not only reduce the effect of schooling, but also make teachers and parents struggled under its heavy burden, and thus I strongly contend that distance learning is not suitable for children. I will explore the reasons in the following essay.

Proponents of using virtual ways to learn state that remote learning can save lots of school traffic time. Based on the video, attending online courses is a compelling way to reduce the cost of transportation to classes due to no location barrier. Nowadays, teenagers would prefer learning by sitting at home rather than traveling to the education centers. Accordingly, as shown in the article, /**/. Admittedly, when it comes to flexibility and convenience, online training is a great solution for students since they are free to have their schedule based on their favorite time to learn and match it to other activities. However, it would be lots of drawbacks behind the scene.

/*For example, if a university is far away from the home, an individual has to use different means of transport to reach the education centers, this is quite tiring and hectic for them.*/

To begin with, using virtual learning in the long term, the young will suffers from some demerits, including lack of socialization and making friends. According to the article, /**/. Similarly, the video illustrates that physical social interaction can boost young students’ social skills, share their ideas and make useful contributions to discussions in classes, but the relationships in online courses are just virtual. From the above analysis, with the social limitations of remote learning, young learners should attend face-to-face learning instead of online study.

Moving on, monitoring has been one of the headache difficulties for teachers and parents since adolescence are expected to get distracted by influences from the internet and social media hence their adapting ability has been in a negative gradient. As claimed by the video, distance learning makes students easily distract and lose attention on their studies. Accordingly, take /**/ as example. /**/. As mentioned in the articles, /**/. Also, it is highly challenging for lecturers in order to operate a semester exam as juveniles are free of control from any individual and feasible to rogue on their task. For guardians, e-learning is costly as well because it need advance computer, laptop and iPad which are expensive devices and some parents cannot afford to buy them and also there will be the high consumption of electricity for the usage of these devices. To sum up, remote learning brings challenges for the stakeholders such as teachers and parents, so it is more feasible that young students learn in a traditional way.

In conclusion, while remote learning makes people convenient and enhances time flexibility, it will pose threat to the social skills of young learners. Not only lecturers will suffer from monitoring and evaluation issues, parents need to spend money on lots of technical requirements such as computers, related software, and stable internet. Hence, in my opinion, remote learning is not suitable for young children since the disadvantages of online training outweigh the advantages.