Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible
in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that
some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.
Discuss both views and give your own opinion.
It would be argued by some that there is a large quantity of information which
should not be provided freely due to its importance and value. In my opinion,
however, opening as much information as possible to the public is really
necessary.
On the one hand, there is a vast amount of reasons why some people are in
favor of the view that it is not worth sharing information in a freeway. One of
those is that several sensitive information involving in military issues should be
kept in secret. If those data were in hand of enemy nations or extreme
opposers, there would be a severe crisis. For instance, a country lacking missile defenders would be struck by rocket systems of their enemies.
Secondly, many researchers devoted entire life and money to pursue their
most important projects. Therefore, their achievements are priceless so that
they should be sufficiently rewarded and respected with the patent or
copyright to their efforts.
On the other hand, I believe that we should reveal our knowledge and
experiences for people who need them to make the world better or to create
positive profits. In fact, data is really crucial for business because companies
and corps need consumer feedbacks to determine the cons and pros of their
products. Therefore, those firms can collect enough information to understand
and improve their goods and services in order to satisfy customers and to
maximize the benefits. Regarding public security, police require a significant
number of evidences and information to investigate for tracing the crime.
Furthermore, if there is enough information for appropriate authorities, they
can identify the safety hazard in the community and prevent it.
In conclusion, although there still exists some opposite argument of sharing
knowledge, I, however, believe that revealing information is necessary.