Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In the salad days of millennium, the society is polarized into two groups almost equally regarding the notion that whether getting insights of a non-native language in order to travel or work in that country, or there are other causes for learning a foreign language. Different people have distinct mindset. The following paragraphs would shed light on both the approaches before making a final note.

To commence with the first notion, there are myriad things to be shared in its favor. First and foremost, one usually acquire a new language because he or she hope that it will help them for better communication with new people. As a result, if one usually use different language to travel or work in that region, they consider it won’t be efficient for them talking an unknown language with new people. They actually learn it for personal benefits. For instance, one won’t learn Chinese language without use at work or travel because it is so-hard to be skilled. Secondly, mastering a second language is always time consuming. People in this contemporary world is always busy with their profession and without travel or work a person with toiling schedule won’t be able to spend his valuable time without some work or travel outcomes.

Shifting towards the second school of thought, there can be some other causes like study purpose. A student may need to learn new language if they want to study in the curriculum of that subject. Without being skilled in that subject he or she may face communication problems with tutors or other students. Moreover, if somebody wants to appreciate art, music and films of a foreign language he or she needs to be skillful in that language. By way of illustration, one may love German songs and without knowing German it won’t be possible for him to fully enjoy the traditional genres of art, music and film in this language.

Moving discussed the arguments, I would like to infer that it may vary from person to person, but there can be plethora of reasons to learn a language and work or travel aren’t the only two causes to gain insights in a foreign language. To justify my state of mind, the instance of German language mentioned above can be an apt reason.