Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research business and the academic world Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely Discuss both the views and give o

In this modern era, sharing information is something that is commonly done between people. Some people opine that it is acceptable to share information where others opine that information should be protected. I completely agree with both views and will explain the reasons.

On the one side, information should be shared to help others progressing. Some people may need information that we have in order to accomplish something. Hence, if we share these information to them, they will be able to get what they want to achieve. For instance, a thesis advisor has done research in the same topic with what her thesis student chooses. In order to help her thesis student to finish her thesis, she shared the information about her research as a reference. Consequently, this information has helped her thesis student to finish his thesis faster.

However, there should be a limitation about which information is allowed to be shared freely. Some information are hard to obtain, thus it is best to protect them from being misused by other unwanted people. By protecting this information, the value of this information won't be decreased, and the owner of this information will feel respected. For example, someone has done a research about the effect of playing games to working performance among Canada employees. Because the information about this topic is still rare and he done that research with a lot of efforts, he wants to protect this information by making this journal a paid-version journal. Those who are really interested about this information can pay and read about his journal, so the information won't be shared carelessly.

In conclusion, sharing information is good because it can help others progressing, but for some information that are hard to obtain, the best way to do with them is by protecting them.