Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Whether some information should be shared widely in academic-related fields or not has garnered a great deal of attention recently. While some people maintain that this knowledge is considered as priceless in order not to be spread by the general public, I believe that free access to the academic information should be encouraged.

It is understandable why there is a viewpoint that the authors should not give members of the public free access to their pieces of work. The main reason is that those findings are recorded by the life-long progress of researching and experimenting, which demands a great amount of money and effort. Therefore, if their works were freely provided to others, those high values would be underestimated and the authors then would lose their motivation to continue their job. However, this argument is flawed, the audience who receive any information, they have well-perceived its authority and are willing to pay a charge depending on its value so as to get the access.

However, I believe that it would be much better if knowledge was widely shared in the academic field for the collaboration. This can be attributed to the fact that the scientist could utilize the other’s outcomes to support their ongoing project, and following that the more valuable findings might be explored. Moreover, not only does their collaboration benefit each other but also fosters the development of any academic fields. One case in point is some online websites today which allows prospects to read the academic papers freely and then those pieces of information have made a great contribution to their successful project.

While there are reasons to support keeping the information confidentially for their own purpose, I would argue that a wide spread of knowledge would be necessary for the development of the whole world.