Some people believe that it is good to share as much as information as possible in scientific research, business and academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too invaluable to be shared freely.Discuss both views and five yo

With the development of information technology and the Internet, spreading information is increasingly easier than it used to be, and therefore, it is important to discuss how people should share information, especially that in business, scientific study and academia. While some opine that spreading information freely in scientific study, business and academia is reasonable, I hold that people should share information selectively because of some consequences.

Advocates of arbitrary information sharing argue that sharing information has a positive effect on the advancement in business, science and academia. Specifically, once new findings related to those fields are shared widely, they can be the basis of later researches and thereby help people save time, money and effort when doing later studies. Eventually, this benefit of sharing information makes huge contributions to the development of those fields and promotes other new findings to be discovered.

Notwithstanding the aforementioned discussions, my view is that sharing information arbitrarily can lead to many problems related to intellectual property rights and information confidentiality. For example, if scientific and academic works are shared without control, these works might be easily replicated and beneficial for stealers. This is totally unfair for the authors of these works as they could have spent years completing a work. Besides, when it comes to business, sharing information freely is a culprit of stolen business ideas and customer information leakage. While stolen ideas can directly have a negative impact on companies’ profits, customer information leakage may damage reputation and prestige of enterprises.

For the forgoing discussions, it appears to me that although sharing information freely can generate some benefits for the progression of scientific study, business and academia, doing that arbitrarily can trigger more serious consequences for enterprises, scientists and academic authors.