Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

The present time is perceived by some people to have a surfeit of alternatives available to every individual. However, while I concede that the proliferation of several sectors has provided us with many choices, I believe opportunities are still dearth in emergencies and places of necessity.

I admit the expansion of fields such as industrial, educational, political, and so on has led to a wide range of choices in every decision. One of such instances would be that the development of technologies and demand for a lot of qualities in work has made the availability of a number of subjects in colleges to select from. Earlier, only science, mathematics, business, economics, or sociology were some of the fields available for students to study. But now, business analytics, data sector, humanity, management, and other countless subjects are present for the people to look towards. Not all the fields are chosen and as a result, the plethora of choices has turned into excess in some of the sectors. Hence, we now have the opportunity to select from many alternatives for our study, work, or life choices.

However, the augmented number of alternatives has been present only at a superficial level or in an unimportant situation. For example, the choices of medicines to take in the critical condition of a patient are still lacking. Malign and chronic cases such as cancer, arthritis, etc., still demand significant research in finding a greater number of options for treatment. Chemo-therapy and gene therapy are the only two choices to select from for curing life-threatening cancer stages. Moreover, the increase in the number of subjects to study for students has not necessarily improved the availability of job choices for them. Hence, the options are not viable for us to choose in a demanding environment.

Thus, even the excess of choices presented to us in modern time has not upgraded the proportion of alternatives for us to select in time of need.