Some people believe that professionals, such as doctors and engineers, should be required to work in the country where they did their training. Others believe they should be free to work in another country if they wish.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Views can vary on whether those professionally trained, such as doctors or engineers, need to work in the country of training as a requirement or they can freely choose to start their profession in another nation. Although the former viewpoint appears appealing to a certain extent, the latter opinion should be better advocated from my perspective.

Some are of the opinion that professionals, as required, had better work in the nation where they acquired their training. Among the supporting arguments, if they were trained in the homeland, their country may face a brain drain once many of them migrate to another country for work. In some Asian nations, this is true since many Asians favour working opportunities in Western countries over those in their nations. In addition, high-cost tertiary education may be subsidized by taxpayers in some countries. Consequently, having professionals work in their training nation can allow them to serve the local citizens and repay the society assisting them.

Nevertheless, others, including me, believe that professionals can freely work in another country as they wish. Cited to support this idea, as everyone can have the right to be fulfilled with their life, they should also have the right to choose their workplace after graduation, wherever they were professionally trained. Additionally, in the context of globalization, this can offer them opportunities to exchange expertise across international borders. Furthermore, requiring professionals to serve in the country where they obtained their training may result in their unwillingness during work. In other words, it can unwantedly lead to job dissatisfaction even if it is optimal enough to solve the issue of brain drain.

In conclusion, although professionals should work in the country where they received their training, I assume that they had better have the right to choose which nation to work in.