People are living longer after they retire. What are the problems? What can be done to solve these problems?

Many people are living longer and longer after retirement, which leads to many issues and, therefore, can be solved with some measures.

One of the problems that arise from the longer expectancy of the elderly is the increase in the portion of the population in need of government financial assistance, as it appears true for some retired employees that they have difficulty sustaining themselves for the course of their retirement, particularly from one to two years after they stop working. This requires much money from taxpayers to provide pensions for them, being an adverse impact on the country's economy. More people having longer life after retiring also put the medicine of countries under pressure, specifically happening in those whose healthcare system is underfunded but overburdened. Once again, more money, especially from taxes, will need to be directed towards dealing with this, which is to the detriment of national funding.

To alleviate issues associated with the trend of longer life expectancy after retirement, there are several solutions. Initially, employees and their employers ought to have preparations for their finance for retirement during their working time. Businesses should make financial contributions to their workers' retirement plans. Employees, besides, had better start saving, simply with a piggy bank or a personal saving fund, to secure their fulfilling future. Furthermore, longer lives mean better health conditions to continue working longer. Therefore, governments can increase the retirement age or allow partial pension payments if elderly people want to continue working with a part-time job.

In conclusion, although that people nowadays are living longer after retirement has undeniable unfavourable influences, several solutions can be implemented to reduce them to better society.