Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A controversial law-related issue is the punishments for criminal commitment. While some state that they would rather be consistent than vary between individual crimes depending on the context and motivational purpose, others think in the opposite way. In this essay, I am going to cast light on both mentioned viewpoints and give my personal approval of the latter one.

On one side of the argument, there are strong contentions to support having one set punishment for each crime. The most obvious is to promote the fairness of the justice system. Aligning a crime with a specific kind of punishment can create a rational base for the court proceedings to get quicker and more effortless, preventing a trial from lasting for much time and triggering more complicated details. It means that everyone will receive equal treatment in cases of law violations, resulting in the raising awareness of law and crime. In addition, severe fixed punishments such as death sentences or life imprisonment may deter heinous crimes. As is previously concerned, categorical attachments of criminals to particular penalties may make people conscious of the result of breaking the law. Although the punishments can be considered harsh and sometimes ruthless, they will make contributions towards ensuring the safety of society.

However, opponents of fixed punishments, including me, state that the court should take the actual situation that happened to the wrong-doers into account before reaching a verdict. It appears not to be the case that all criminals are wicked and heartless. Some commit a crime unintentionally, some for defending purposes. Those “accidents” would not deserve the same punishment as crimes planned for personal revenge or only to satisfy the evil essence of criminals. Therefore, investigating where the crime stems from and its motivation when sentencing a criminal will benefit the panel of judges as they can decide the best response to criminal and civil cases. Moreover, it is in line with humanity when it can avoid unfair legal judgement. Flipped back in the past, several residents of countries with rigid law systems were sentenced to death for a crime committed on account of the poverty of their family or the freedom of a group of people from an oppressive boss, which caused heartbreaking and inhuman scenes of execution.

In conclusion, there are good reasons for and against having fixed penalties for different types of crime. I personally believe that punishments for criminals should be suitable for the context and motive of the crime so that they will be not only logically proper but also humanely appropriate.