In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people.

To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

An ageing population is getting noticeably problematic in several nations and may become open to debate since some consider it troublesome while others regard it as an advantage to society. In my eyes, though a community including many elderly citizens can potentially face some drawbacks, it still can lead to much more significant benefits.

Among the disadvantages of a demographically ageing society is the worry about lacking a young labour force. Factually, it is the case that a higher proportion of the old is potentially linked to the notion that people in their adulthood favour investing in personal facets of themselves over thinking of marriage and particularly childbirth. This conception is popular in some developed countries and can decline the percentage of children and youngsters who will be their central future labour force. In addition, social welfare is also an aspect that an ageing population can unfavourably influence. In other words, if a country includes a high proportion of high-age residents, more tax money will be diverted into their pensions, social assistance and medical services.

However, these arguments may not stand up to scrutiny as an ageing population can give rise to more considerable advantages. Initially cited as a benefit of this trend regarding families is that it can allow those who are grandparents to partially shoulder the responsibility for childcare. The fact that more parents choose to pursue a job to earn for their families is common, and it, together with parenting and household chores, may overwhelm them. As a socially accepted solution, many let their children stay with their grandparents during work. In that way, the relationships between grandparents and their grandchildren can strengthen, and parents might not need to face too much pressure. Furthermore, though an ageing population might decrease young labour in the future, it, by contrast, can provide society with experienced employees. This source of the labour force can be regarded as beneficial since it can not only benefit businesses immediately wanting professional employees without much training but also allow the youth to have enough internships to gain much work experience.

In conclusion, despite its undeniable potential drawbacks, an ageing population can be more beneficial rather than detrimental, in my opinion.