Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children.

Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion

Before getting into the topic, we must understand that none of us could fix any frame work regarding children's learning and growth. This is because each children have their own ability and own methodology in learning. Regarding homework to school children, we must consider both junior and high school students.

For elementary or junior school students, homeworks given by teachers actually help them in revising the materials they learned in school and in retaining them in their memory. For example, most of the curriculum in this level of education consists of language proficiency and basic math. These are the basic skills of life and can be developed only through constant repetitive practice. Homeworks and assignments provide them with that opportunity

On the other hand, this is the very same age in which every child must live its childhood. On an average, excluding 9 hours of sleep, students spent majority of the time in academics. So after-school hours are the time for their recreational activties and hobbies. It is unjust for an educational system to occupy those precious time through homeworks.

Now moving onto the middle and high school students, the learning syllabus increases with the age. It is not possible to cover everything in school and such notion resembles spoon feeding which supresses students' creativity and skills. So assignments given to the students at this stage, make them to do some research, self learning, interact with people and bring out their uniqueness which is proved to have positive impact on pupils.

At the same time, every student would have figured out what they are going to do in life; what major they are going to choose; Which sport they are going to play and everything concerning their future by this phase. In simple, all students will not have the affliation on the same thing. So bombarding them with common assignments can be an unnecessary burden reducing the time which is meant to be spent for their goals.

By comparing all this scenarios, it is just to conclude that homework is a needless addition for school students, as the students today are brilliant enough that they already posses the skills that assignments tend to create and that home works have become obsolete.