Some people believe that students should take a gap year after finishing school and work or travelling during this period. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this.

In recent years, there is a tendency amongst students to spend a year travelling or working after graduating from high school instead of going straight to university. While I accept that taking a gap year between high school and university studies could create several problems for students, I believe that it is more likely to have useful effects.

Probably the most serious problem about a gap year is its impacts on future academic performance. Students attending university after spending time on work or adventures would face problems in adapting academic environment. They get deviated from their study, which has not involved in their lives for a long time. In addition, students tend to end their study and this lead to some negative effects in their life. For example, who not enjoy university education would struggle throughout their lives to make the ends meet because of being unskilled.

Despite these reasons, in my view, the benefits involved in taking a gap year before entering the tertiary education are greater than its drawbacks. Firstly, it would be the opportunity for young adults to socialize, engage in volunteering and learn about what they want, which help them not only broaden their own knowledge about several areas not taught in university but also discover their career interest. Furthermore, by travelling during the gap year period, students can relax psychologically and physically after studying for a long period as well as explore and experiment culture and language of other countries. Another distinctive advantage that a gap year break can give to students is a time to work to reduce the financial burden of higher education to an extent.

In conclusion, although having a break time after graduating secondary education has a few demerits, it has a largely positive influence on students.