Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The bitter controversy centered on whether calling for youngsters to do voluntary works for society in leisure time or not. While some people advocate that teenagers should merely focus on their study, my view is that participation the social activities of young generation would be an indispensable part of contributing to their potential benefits in the sustainable development society.

There is no doubt that taking part in community activities of students aged 13-19 can bring numerous plus points about knowledge and skills. It is profoundly true to say that every communal endeavor can partly contribute to laying for the youngsters a firm foundation of essential competences to step out of parent’s arms. The majority of adults in modern civilized society, actually, constantly complain that the young neither own basic skills nor can apply their academic study to practice. And it is in the social works that juveniles could gain the so-called soft, problem-solving and communication skills, which in return invaluable assets for them in the long run.

Moreover, undertaking the civic projects, to some extent, could create not merely the mental health but also the well-being for themselves and for community. In fact, since every single person is a vital cell of society and it can be concretely considered its irreplaceable role in constructing and evolving the robust country, the successful development of community is the same as the enormous achievement of the young adults. Therefore, youngsters will feel good about being involved in something which they feel helpful and valued, and where they’re supported to achieve something as part of a group. These positive feelings can help protect young people from sadness and depression.

In conclusion, I assume that participating in the community activities in leisure time would be a rewarding experience for teenagers in order to enhance necessary skills and improve psychological wellness after hard studying. However, it will be better for students if they can balance between studying and doing volunteer.