Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Volunteer work is an effective factor in several societies. Many people support the notion of making unprofitable community services a must for youngsters during leisure time. I totally agree with this statement as this essay will justify my agreement.

One of the first benefits of teenagers doing community work is that it is a useful way to take advantage of free time. Nowadays, most if not all teenagers spend their spare time on their mobile phones playing video games or even surfing through social media platforms just to fill their times in, this trend is wasting not only their time but also their talents and the effective role of theirs in a society. Through community services they would be distracted from their phones and more focused on their well-being. In addition, voluntary activities push the teenager to interact with other people, leading to the development of their social skills and building their characters to become more influential individuals. Therefore, unpaid community work can significantly benefit teenagers.

However, charity work is important for the society as a whole as well. Firstly, this type of voluntary work assists in improving the economic situation of a country, as youngsters are helping the poor or the disabled this leading to a decline in the poverty rate, thus prospering the community. Moreover, teenagers will be able to fulfill their duties towards their country and participate in building and developing their communities.

To conclude, I really support forcing teenagers to do unpaid community work as it comes back with many benefits on both society and young people.