Some people believe that there should be the death penalty for extremely serious crimes. Others believe that it is not morally correct to kill criminals

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

One of the highly controversial issues today relates to whether to use capital punishment or not. In this essay, I am going to examine this question from both points of view and then give mu outlook on the matter.

On one side of the argument there are people who argue that the benefits of death penalty considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that, in future criminals will be aware about the punishment before committing any offence. It is also possible to say that due to this kind of penalty there will be reduction of unlawful act along with no. of criminals. One good illustration of this is Osama Bin Laden who had attacked twin towers in USA, had been executed in his own country, which has given citizens of USA justice against such dreadful activity.

On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case.It is often argued that infact punishing this wrongdoer is like we are committing another offence. People have this opinion because, the person found guilty was forced to commit the crime due to circumstances such as self defence. A second point is that, the facts relating to the crime should be considered before giving any penalty. A particular good example here is during rape conditions or even domestic violence female tries to save herself, so if she commits any crime she should not be sentenced.

In conclusion, I believe that both the sides of argument have their merits.On balance I tend to believe that capital punishment should be practised only in the cases of serious unlawful act, and support the virtue of the people to be honest.