Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishm

Breaking the law is an everyday thing! The only difference is the magnitude of the committed offence, however, others suggest that there should be a fixed penalty; while, some think the reason for committing the crime should be looked at. This essay agrees that the reason for committing offence should not be overlooked. Further relevant scenarios will be given, as well as, highlighting the cause of some crimes.

There are many people who are jailed for the crimes they did not commit. It is socially agreed tha with a good lawyer, one is a free person. One can be used as a scapegoat for other people's offences. For instance in most under-developed countries there are illegal money changers who are given large sums of money to sell in the streets. The big fish can never face justice, if the scapegoat is apprehended and the later will be charged alone.

Furthermore, knowledge is power. Looking at people who live in the outermost and backward rural areas they are not knowledgeable of some cultural practises they do which are illegal. For example, in Binga a rural area in Zimbabwe, they used to practise genital mutilation for young girls which is an initiation into womanhood.This was done against the girl's will. When the Girl Child Network advocated Muzvare Betty Makoni started educating the community, there was a decrease in number of girls being initiated.

In addition, mental disability is also the most common of death crimes. Mentally ill patients cannot discern between good and bad, therefore they are a threat to the community so punishment is unfruitful, instead they are admitted into a psychiatric unit. For instance, in our rural area there was a certain man who was mentally ill. He killed his own father as he accused him of the death of his cattle which he never owned.

However, to a certain extent some offences should have a fixed punishment. It must come as a lesson to others that crimes are not tolerated. Harsh punishments can be given. For instance, issue of Suddam Hussein who was beheaded due to masscres of people. There is no justification for masscres of people.

In my perspective, all crimes should be examined before judgement is delivered. Some people can be setup for the crime or commit it unknowingly. Punishment should take into account the reason for committing the crime.