Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstance of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

A debate on whether people who commit crimes should be sentenced to fixed punishments rages on. Some people are in favour of an exact punishment towards each type of crime, while others argue that other factors, such as motivation, circumstances of a specific crime should be considered. In my view, I contend that other related information also plays a vital role in determining the punishment.

People who think that there should be a fixed punishment may worry about the unfairness, if a flexible punishment rule is introduced. With a flexible punishment setting, those who are in power could seek every method to reduce or even eliminate the punishment, just because they have more contacts in the government. However, poor people could hardly have the chance to do that. As a result, different people who commit the same crime may have different punishments, which is obviously unfair.

However, others dispute that background information, including motivation of the criminal, is complex and the judge should not overlook it when deciding the punishment. For example, many car crashes which lead to the death of some innocent people are beyond the control of drivers, as it may relate to some mechanical issues of vehicles. Under such a circumstance, although the accident has caused the death, the driver should not be punished severely, because these are accidentally tragedies.

In my own view, the punishment to a criminal should be based on a mixed types of materials. Related government departments like the police department need to investigate thoroughly about every criminal case. For example, if the investigation shows that the culprit has a good reputation in the community and it is the only crime he or she commits, a less serious punishment should be considered in order to give the criminal a chance to correct wrong behaviours. Only in this way, our society will create a more harmonious place to live.