Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishm

Whether punishments should be fixed in particular crimes or flexible by considering factors such as the offender’s motivation and circumstances is a frequent topic of discussion.

Some people think fixed punishments can better serve the society. This is firstly because only by establishing fixed punishments can the legal system be transparent, clear and easy to understand. In this way, potential law-breakers could completely know the consequences of breaking laws, so they might be too afraid of being punished to take an action. The crime rate therefore would significantly decrease by deterrent effect of fixed punishments. Secondly, compared to making punishment decisions according to complex circumstances and motivation, establishing fixed penalty for each type of crime makes the whole judicial process much simpler, leading to a more efficient judicial work.

However, supporters of flexible punishments of crimes see the necessities to take offenders’ motivation and circumstances into account. This is reasonable for cases of, for example, first offenders that have broken laws due to an impulse. Those offenders should not be punished in the same way with organized offenders, because if given a chance, they would less likely to commit the same crime again. Regular punishments therefore would be too heavy for them, which might ruin the promising future that they should have had. But there is also a dark side of a flexible legal system. If it is applied, then the time for settling a case would be longer, accompanied with higher costs of investigation, because the whole judicial process is more demanding.

In my opinion, the choice of punishment type should depend on the competence of judicial staff and develop stage of judicial system. If the country’s judicial system is mature enough to deal with different circumstances, and sufficient capable staff can support the judge work, then a flexible punishment decision can better serve the public there.